Officers and Board of Directors

The officers and directors of GGS carry on the business of the society.

They are elected at the third general meeting of even numbered years and installed at the last meeting, usually held in December. The president and vice-president serve as two of three voting trustees of the R. J. Taylor, Jr. Foundation, which awards grants for genealogical publications.

2019-2020 Email Directory

Please use the contact form to contact any of the officers that do not have an e-mail address listed.

Office Name Email
President Madelyn Nix
Vice President Cynthia Harrison
Recording Secretary Larry W. Thomas
Corresponding Secretary John Phelps
Treasurer Ann Stoskopf
Assistant Treasurer – Open –
Historian/Archivist Joanne Smalley
Director/Education Maggie Thomas
Director/IGHR Karen Molohon
Director/IGHR Assistant Kristin Harms
Director/Membership Emma Davis Hamilton
Director/Publicity Julie Lenox-Sharifi
Director/Publications David Brandenburg
Director/Policies & Procedures – Open –
Director/Technology Eva Garrett
Director/Volunteer – Open –
Director at Large Christopher Chapman
Non-voting Board Members
Past President Karen Molohon
Newsletter Editor Eve B. Mayes
Quarterly Editor Roger Harris

Certified Genealogist (CG) and Certified Genealogical Lecturer (CGL) are Service Marks of the Board for Certification of Genealogists used under license after periodic evaluations by the Board.