Officers and Board of Directors

The officers and directors of GGS carry on the business of the society.

They are elected at the third general meeting of even numbered years and installed at the last meeting, usually held in December. The president and vice-president serve as two of three voting trustees of the R. J. Taylor, Jr. Foundation, which awards grants for genealogical publications.

2019-2020 Email Directory

Please use the contact form to contact any of the officers that does not have an e-mail address listed.

Office Name Email
President Madelyn Nix president@gagensociety.org
Vice President Cynthia Harrison vice-president@gagensociety.org
Recording Secretary Larry W. Thomas recsec@gagensociety.org
Corresponding Secretary John Phelps corsec@gagensociety.org
Treasurer Mike Moss treasurer@gagensociety.org
Assistant Treasurer Sandra Kidd asst-treasurer@gagensociety.org
Historian/Archivist Joanne Smalley histarchivist@gagensociety.org
Director/Education Maggie Thomas programs@gagensociety.org
Director/IGHR Karen Molohon ighr@gagensociety.org
Director/IGHR Assistant Kristin Harms ighr-asst@gagensociety.org
Director/Membership Emma Davis Hamilton membership@gagensociety.org
Director/Publicity Julie Lenox-Sharifi publicity@gagensociety.org
Director/Publications David Brandenburg publications@gagensociety.org
Director/Policies & Procedures – Open – pp@gagensociety.org
Director/Technology Eva Garrett techdir@gagensociety.org
Director/Volunteer – Open – volunteer@gagensociety.org
Director at Large Christopher Chapman diratlarge@gagensociety.org
Non-voting Board Members
Past President Karen Molohon pastpre@gagensociety.org
Newsletter Editor Eve B. Mayes newsletter@gagensociety.org
Quarterly Editor Liz Snow ggsq@gagensociety.org

Certified Genealogist (CG) and Certified Genealogical Lecturer (CGL) are Service Marks of the Board for Certification of Genealogists used under license after periodic evaluations by the Board.